Representation in the Senate

In the Constitutional Convention there was a lengthy debate on how the states would be represented in Congress. The large states wanted the states to be represented based on the populations, while the small states wanted all of the states to be equally represented.

The Connecticut Compromise introduced by Roger Sherman suggested that there should be one house based on proportional representation and a second house based on the equal representation of the states.

This compromise would guarantee a combination of both equal and proportional  representation. 

The representatives would be chosen by the people in direct elections, while the senators would chosen by legislatures of the several states. This model created a system of checks and balances and prevented a tyranny of the majority. 

In order to preserve the balance of power, the founders added a provision to Article V that prohibited Congress from ever making an attempt to deprive a state of its equal representation in the senate without their consent,

In 1913 an amendment was propose and ratified that has deprived Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, South Carolina, Utah and Virginia of their representation in the senate without their consent.

The Constitutional right of these states to be represented in senate has been violated and the legislatures of these states have a right to nullify the17th Amendment in their states.